Starbucks: Halal or Not?

Thursday, September 17, 2009

starbucks halal or not in malaysia

I heard of this last year. I mean, it was BIG last year, people saying (including my mom hereself) that Starbucks is not halal. Something like using a lil bit of alcohol into the beverages and food they sell. It got really realistic when I start to get SMSes stating not to go to Coffee Bean and Starbucks and the haram stuff are chocolate, vanilla, coffee and rasp frap drinks. Come to think of it, what else these old time favourite cafe has to offer but those stated?? Cakes, but I myself prefer the beverages, that's why they have COFFEE on their logo, right?

Have been avoiding Starbucks ever since (starbucks fan here!). Well I never thought of Google it until last night. And presto, I found their Malaysian website. Scroll down and you'll find this;

We are certified HALAL by JAKIM.

For any matters pertaining to HALAL please write to halalenquiry@starbucks.com.my

Jan 5, 2009


And what's more, it seemed like there was another rumour about Starbucks Coffee Company and its management support Israel. Oh my god.

Guess I can enjoy my favourite brownie again. (yeah, I go there just for the brownie, nothing else. Seriously. I hate coffee and I had a bad, diarrhea experience with the banana frap before. So no more cold drink for me). Maybe I'll try something other than frap eyh? =) So to all muslims, Del says it's okay to enjoy Starbucks now!






Shine on,
Del

You Might Also Like

1 comments

  1. I got this e-mail from Starbucks customer realtions. A Muslim should avoid consuming from Starbucks because they refuse to declare the ingredients which they use. As it is known they used to use carmine which is NOT HALAL in some of their products.

    Hi Eysa,



    My name is Frances and I'm from Starbucks Customer Service.



    While we understand that some customers may have a need to know specific ingredient information prior to consuming a product, unfortunately we are unable to provide more in-depth information than what is currently available in the ingredient statement. If there are concerns about this product possibly containing an ingredient derived from a source that you do not wish to consume, we would recommend that product not be consumed.



    Sincerely,



    Frances P.

    customer service

    ReplyDelete

Hi there, leave a comment! You can subscribe comments on this post by clicking the link below (if you're logged in). Thanks!

Popular Reads

Like us on Facebook

press

Flickr Images